Navigate Up
Sign In
  • CRM
  • CRM
  • CRM
CRM > English > Activities > Curs 2017-2018 > MURPHYS-HSFS-2018: INTERDISCIPLINARY WORKSHOP ON multiple scale systems, systems with hysteresis and trends in the dynamical systems
MURPHYS-HSFS-2018: INTERDISCIPLINARY WORKSHOP ON multiple scale systems, systems with hysteresis and trends in the dynamical systems


General Information 


Dates: May 28th to June 1st, 2018.
Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, Barcelona, and the Collaborative Research Center 910, Berlin, are pleased to announce the joint international multidisciplinary workshop MURPHYS-HSFS-2018. The workshop, devoted to mathematical theory and applications of the multiple scale systems, systems with hysteresis and trends in the dynamical systems theory, will take place at the Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, in a beautiful suburb of Barcelona, May 28 to June 1, 2018.
MURPHYS 2018 (Multi-Rate Processes and Hysteresis) is the 9th workshop that continues a series of biennial meetings focuses on multiple scale phenomena, singular perturbations, phase transitions, hysteresis phenomena and open problems in dynamical systems theory. The previous workshops were held in Cork, Ireland (2002, 2004, 2006, 2008); Pechs, Hungary (2010); Suceava, Romania (2012) and Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics, Berlin (2014). The 8th workshop was held in Barcelona in 2016.   
HSFS (Hysteresis and Slow-Fast Systems) is the follow-up of a workshop organized in the framework of the Collaborative Research Center 910, Berlin. HSFS focuses on reaction-diffusion equations with hysteresis, systems with different temporal and spatial scales, and applications to self-organizing nonlinear systems. The previous workshops were organized in Lutherstadt Wittenberg, Germany (2011), Berlin, Germany (2014) and Barcelona, Spain (2016).
 Important Dates
April 1st, 2018: Early bird registration deadline
May 6th, 2018: Regular registration deadline
May 6th, 2018: Deadline for submission of title and abstract of your contribution
August 15th, 2018: Deadline for submission of extended abstracts and contribution papers
Main topics of MURPHYS-HSFS-2018 include (but are not limited to):
· hysteresis phenomena
· multiple scale systems
· nonlinear systems in general
· self-organizing systems
· rate-independent systems and energetic solutions
· spatially discrete systems
· singular perturbations
· switched and multistable systems
· phase transitions · periodic orbits and bifurcation theory
· piecewise differential equations
· experimental dynamical systems · applications of the above mentioned to physical, chemical, biological and economical sciences, engineering and medicine

New areas of application are particularly welcome.

The participation of young scientists and in particular post-docs as well as PhD and post-graduate students is strongly encouraged. The reduced registration fees are applied to students.

Andrei Korobeinikov, Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, Barcelona
Josep Sardanyés, Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, Barcelona
Magdalena Caubergh, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Pavel Gurevich, Institut für Mathematik, Berlin, Germany
Tomás Lázaro, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona
Dmitry Rachinskii, University of Texas, Dallas, USA
Elena Shchepakina, Samara State Aerospace University, Samara, Russia
Vladimir Sobolev, Samara State Aerospace University, Samara, Russia

​International steering committee​
Eric Benoît, Université de La Rochelle, France
Martin Brokate, Technische Universität München, Germany
Rod Cross, University of Strathclyde, UK
Mihai Dimian, Stefan cel Mare University, Suceava, Romania
Gary Friedman, Drexel University, USA
Pavel Gurevich, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Leonid Kalachev, University of Montana, Missoula, USA
Pavel Krejčí, Institute of Mathematics AS CR, Praha, Czech Republic
Isaak Mayergoyz, University of Maryland, College Park, USA      
Michael P. Mortell, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland
Robert O’Malley, University of Washington, Seattle, USA
Dmitry Rachinskii, University of Texas, Dallas, USA
Sergei S Sazhin,  University of Brighton, UK
Elena Shchepakina, Samara University, Russia
Vladimir Sobolev, Samara University, Samara, Russia
Jürgen Sprekels, Weierstrass Institute, Berlin, Germany        

Scientific Program Committee   
Tomás Alarcón, CRM, Barcelona, Spain
Andreas Amann, University College Cork, Ireland
Zalaman I Balanov, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Morten Brøns, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark 
Karin Dahmen, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA
Mathieu Desroches, INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt Centre, France
Michela Eleuteri, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy
Dietrich Flockerzi, Max Planck Institute, Magdeburg, Germany
Armengol Gasull, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain
Amalia Ivanyi, University of Pecs, Hungary
Olaf Klein, Weierstrass Institute, Berlin, Germany
Dorothee Knees, Weierstrass Institute, Berlin, Germany
Oleg Makarenkov, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Isaak Mayergoyz, University of Maryland, College Park, USA      
Alexander Mielke, Weierstrass Institute, Berlin, Germany      
Alexander Pimenov, Weierstraß-Institut, Germany
Michael Ruderman, University of Agder, Norway
Alexandru Stancu, Al. I Cuza University, Iasi, Romania
Sergey Tikhomirov, Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig, Germany
Augusto Visintin, University of Trento, Italy         
Ciro Visone, University of Sannio, Italy
Registration fees:
(To be posted)
Registration fee covers conference materials, cost of publications, coffee breaks and a conference dinner.
For enquiries please contact Ms. Alba Tomàs Novo at or Andrei Korobeinikov at
On the campus: The organizers suggest to book a room in Hotel Campus or a studio-type apartment in Vila Universitaria (400 euros per week approximately for a twin room, no breakfasts provided) link
There also are a number of hotels in Barcelona (see here), just 30 min from the campus of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona by a FGC train.


The organizers are happy to acknowledge financial support by AGAUR of Generalitat de Catalunya, Collaborative Research Center 910: Control of self-organizing nonlinear systems (Germany), the Samara State Aerospace University (Russia) and Centre de Recerca Matemàtica.