IRP Higher Homotopical Structures (Partially ONLINE)

Sign in
Intensive Research Programme (IRP)
From January 11, 2021
to July 10, 2021

If you wish to register only for one of the activities, please choose the one you are interested in from the list

Homotopical and higher-categorical methods are becoming increasingly important in areas such as geometry, topology, algebra, mathematical physics, and lately also logic and computer science. The insight can be summarized in realizing that many deep problems in these areas and elsewhere are homotopical in nature, and that native homotopical tools are necessary for a natural treatment of them as well as for obtaining viable solutions that can serve as a basis for further developments.
The present program aims at gathering experts from these areas in order to foster new lines of research and stimulate young researchers. Among the big challenges which will be addressed are: development of higher-categorical tools for theory and computations in algebraic K-theory and related theories, including topological cyclic homology and topological Hochschild homology; factorization homology and graph homology; higher Segal spaces; presentability and accessibility; explicit descriptions of fully extended topological field theories; applications of Goodwillie calculus; deformation theory; derived geometry.


​Universitat de Barcelona
University of Illinois at Chicago
​Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and CRM
Université Sorbonne Paris Nord


​Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and CRM
​Universitat de Barcelona
​Universitat de Barcelona
​Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
​University of Illinois at Chicago
​Universitat de Barcelona
​Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and CRM
​University of Leicester
Université Sorbonne Paris Nord



Click to open list
Fernando Abellán Universität Hamburg 31/05/2021 04/06/2021
Mathieu Anel Carnegie Mellon University 23/05/2021 19/06/2021
David Ayala Montana State University 01/05/2021 15/06/2021
Clark Barwick University of Edinburgh
Michael Batanin Macquarie University 01/02/2021 30/04/2021
Clemens Berger Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis 09/04/2021 09/05/2021
Alexander Berglund Stockholm University 11/04/2021 17/04/2021
Julie Bergner University of Virginia 24/05/2021 10/07/2021
Georg Biedermann Universidad del Norte
Pedro Boavida Universidade de Lisboa
Carles Broto Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona – CRM 11/01/2021 10/07/2021
Urtzi Buijs Universidad de Málaga 05/04/2021 05/05/2021
Damien Calaque Université de Montpellier
Ricardo Campos Université de Montpellier 06/06/2021 19/06/2021
Carles Casacuberta Universitat de Barcelona 11/01/2021 10/07/2021
David Chataur Université de Lille
Joana Cirici Universitat de Barcelona 11/01/2021 10/07/2021
Vladimir Dotsenko Université de Strasbourg 11/04/2021 11/05/2021
Daniela Egas École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Imma Gálvez Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya 11/01/2021 10/07/2021
David Gepner University of Illinois at Chicago
Jesper Grodal University of Copenhagen
Javier J. Gutiérrez Universitat de Barcelona 11/01/2021 10/07/2021
Owen Gwilliam University of Massachusetts 01/06/2021 30/06/2021
Rune Haugseng Norwegian University of Science and Technology 24/04/2021 10/07/2021
Kathryn Hess École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Gijs Heuts Universiteit Utrecht
Vladimir Hinich University of Haifa 01/05/2021 31/05/2021
Geoffroy Horel Université Paris 13 12/04/2021 01/05/2021
André Joyal UQAM, Montréal 22/05/2021 20/06/2021
Ralph Kaufmann Purdue University 13/04/2021 14/05/2021
Nitya Kitchloo Johns Hopkins University 07/06/2021 30/06/2021
Joachim Kock Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona – CRM 11/01/2021 10/07/2021
Muriel Livernet Université Paris Diderot-Paris 7 17/05/2021 18/06/2021
Martin Markl The Czech Academy of Sciences 01/02/2021 16/04/2021
Lennart Meier Universiteit Utrecht 10/03/2021 10/04/2021
Ieke Moerdijk Universiteit Utrecht
José Manuel Moreno Trinity College Dublin 11/04/2021 17/04/2021
Fernando Muro Universidad de Sevilla
Thomas Nikolaus Universität Münster 10/06/2021 21/06/2021
Viktoriya Ozornova Ruhr-Universität Bochum 10/03/2021 10/04/2021
Emily Riehl Johns Hopkins University 31/05/2021 27/06/2021
Marcy Robertson University of Melbourne
Martina Rovelli Australian National University 26/05/2021 26/06/2021
Paolo Salvatore University of Roma Tor Vergata
Claudia Scheimbauer Technische Universität München
Sarah Scherotzke Université du Luxembourg
Hiro Tanaka Texas State University 23/05/2021 30/06/2021
Bertrand Toën Université de Toulouse 31/05/2021 18/06/2021
Andrew Tonks University of Leicester 11/01/2021 10/07/2021
Bruno Vallette Université Sorbonne Paris Nord
Sarah Whitehouse University of Sheffield 17/05/2021 21/05/2021
Mahmoud Zeinalian City University of New York



For inquiries about the program please contact the research programs coordinator Ms. Núria Hernández at​​