Sign in
From May 26, 2022
to May 27, 2022

Registration covers: coffee breaks, lunch, and wine & cheese.

Registration deadline 15 / 05 / 2022

Sala Prat de la Riba, Institut d’Estudis Catalans (IEC)

Carrer del Carme, 47, 08001 Barcelona

Institut d'Estudis Catalans



*It covers coffee breaks, lunch, and wine & cheese.






The annual Barcelona Computational, Cognitive and Systems Neuroscience (BARCCSYN) meeting is about bringing together researchers from computational, systems and cognitive neuroscience. Our goal is to provide a forum for lively discussion and promote active collaboration between Barcelona-based research groups, especially between theorists and experimentalists.


Gloria Cecchini | UB
Sara Ibañez | CRM
Alex Roxin | CRM
Carles Sindreu | UB-IDIBAPS


Barccsyn is about bringing together researchers from computational, systems and cognitive neuroscience.  Our goal is to provide a forum for lively discussion and promote active collaboration between Barcelona-based research groups, especially between theorists and experimentalists.​
This is the ninth annual Barccsyn conference.  The conference will be held on May 26 and 27, 2022, at the Institut d’Estudis Catalans.  Each day we will have 8-10 brief oral presentations from local researchers, a poster session and a longer keynote lecture from a renowned researcher from abroad. You can check the past editions here​​.

Keynote speakers

Tatjana Tchumatchenko

Tatjana Tchumatchenko

Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

Physicist in the field of theoretical neuroscience. She is an independent Max Planck Group Leader and, since November 2020, professor for Computational Neuroscience of Behavior at the Faculty of Medicine of the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn (Germany). In her research she investigates how neural networks compute and how particular activity patterns emerge from synaptic and neuronal features.

List of participants

Name Institution
Manuel Molano-Mazón IDIBAPS
Giulio Ruffini Neuroelectrics Barcelona SL
Giada Damiani Neuroelectrics
João Morais ICN2 : Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Francisco Páscoa dos Santos Eodyne Systems SL
M. Victoria Puig Institut Catala de Nanociencia i Nanotecnologia (ICN2)
Maria Guasch Morgades Neuroelectrics
Èlia Lleal Neuroelectrics
Adrià Galan Gadea Neuroelectrics
Adrián Fernández Amil Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC)
Ismael T. Freire Instituto de Bioingeniería de Catalunya
Andrea Suárez Segarra Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya
Ignasi Cos Universitat de Barcelona
Balma Serrano Porcar Universitat de Barcelona
Alexis Pérez-Bellido Universitat de Barcelona
Gloria Cecchini Universitat de Barcelona
Miguel Donderis de Vicente Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Thomas Gener Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Elena Galea Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
David Reyner Parra Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Gemma Huguet Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Manel Vila-Vidal Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
MICHAEL ORIEUX Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Pablo Calvé Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Carolina Schneider Bender Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Gustavo Deco Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Dmytro Grytskyy Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Eleonora De Filippi Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Pau Clusella Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Jakub Vohryzek Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Karla Ivankovic Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Demetrio Ferro Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Elvira del Agua Banyeres Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Elvira García Guzmán Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Martí Monge i Asensio Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Sebastian Manuel Geli Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Bastian Pietras Universitat Pompeu Fabra
fatmaalzahraa aboalasaad Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Francesco Damiani Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Alice Vidal Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Emma Fernández Miranda Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Ludovica Mana Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Juan Fuentes Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Leonie Lambertz Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Duygu Ozbagci Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Franz R. Schmid Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Gorka Zamora-López Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Kim Falkenstein Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Farhad Razi Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Justo Montoya Gálvez Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Anaïs Espinoso Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Sebastian Idesis Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Chiara Mastrogiuseppe Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Pau Pomés Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Rubén Moreno Bote Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Silvana Silva Pereira Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Jorge Ramirez Ruiz Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Maria Sol Vidal Saez Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Ernest Montbrió Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Rodrigo Pérez-Ordoyo Bellido Universitat Pompeu Fabra
David Blair Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Marc Schwartz Palleja Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Kyra Kadhim Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Julian Schulte Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Alberto Moreno Santos Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Katerina Lymperidou Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Michael DePass Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Gustavo Patow Universitat de Girona
Pedro Mateos-Aparicio Universitat Internacional de Catalunya
Melina Timplalexi Universitat Internacional de Catalunya
Rosa Maria Delicado Moll Universitat de Les Illes Balears
Cristina Giossi Universitat de Les Illes Balears
Catalina Vich Universitat de Les Illes Balears
Saray Soldado Magraner University of California
Yuxiu Shao École normale supérieure - Paris
Silvia Daun University of Cologne
Joana Soldado Magraner Carnegie Mellon University
Klaus Wimmer Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Alexandre Hyafil Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Sara Ibañez Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Alex Roxin Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Pan Ye Li Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Alexandre Garcia-Duran Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Albert Compte IDIBAPS
Alexis Cerván IDIBAPS
carles sindreu IDIBAPS
Joana Coutinho IDIBAPS
Alexandre Mahrach IDIBAPS
Melanie Tschiersch IDIBAPS
Tiffany Oña Jodar IDIBAPS
Jaime de la Rocha IDIBAPS

Poster and contributed talks

Participants have the option to contribute with a talk or a poster presentation. The poster boards that are available at the venue measure one meter wide by two meters high. Any poster size within these limits is fine.

To apply, please fill in the following form.
    • Deadline: 04/05/2022
    • Resolutions will be sent before 10/05/2022

***Only proposals from registered participants will be accepted


There will be prizes for the best students contributions​


  • You will be asked to create a CRM web user account before registering to the activity through the following link:


Please note that it will be necessary to fill in both the personal and academic requested information in the web user intranet.


  • Once your web user is created, you may register for the activity through the following link.




IF YOUR INSTITUTION COVERS YOUR REGISTRATION FEE: Please note that, in case your institution is paying for the registration via bank transfer, you will have to indicate your institution details and choose “Transfer” as the payment method at the end of the process.


*If the paying institution is the UPF / UB/ UPC / UAB, after registering, please send an email to with your name and the institution internal reference number that we will need to issue the electronic invoice. Please, send us the Project code covering the registration if needed.


*If the paying institution is IDIBAPS, please send an email to with the Project reference code that will cover the registration cost, to be added to the invoice if necessary.

Paying by credit card

IF YOU PAY VIA CREDIT CARD but you need to provide the invoice to your institution to be reimbursed, please note that we will also need you to send an email to providing the internal reference number given by your institution and the code of the Project covering the registration (if necessary).





If you would like to attend barccsyn but do not have sufficient funding to do so, please contact Ms. Nuria Hernandez ( and we will do our best to accommodate you.