Masterclass Outreach BGSMath: How to speak about mathematics to broad audiences

Sign in
Other activities
March 06, 2023

🕒 10:30

📌 CRM Auditorium

Registration deadline 03 / 03 / 2023


To speak about science to broad audience means being able to connect a certain content to a certain audience. We will explore some general techniques to stablish this connection in different ways. We will give practical advice, study some examples and address the main issues one faces when trying to communicate science or math.

This talk is aimed at PhD and Postdoctoral researchers.


Eduardo Saénz de Cabezón

Eduardo Saénz de Cabezón

Universidad de La Rioja

Eduardo Sáenz de Cabezón is a Spanish mathematician, and professor of computer languages and systems at the Universidad de La Rioja since 2001. He is a recognized specialist in scientific monologues. He develops his research in the area of computational algebra, to which he has contributed 25 research publications and collaborations with Spanish and European mathematicians such as Henry P. Wynn.

Cabezón is also known for disseminating mathematics through conferences, shows and talks for people of all ages around the world. He was the winner of competition for scientific monologues at Famelab Spain (2013) and at the Aquae Foundation (2014), also becoming a finalist at the Cheltenham Science Festival (United Kingdom). He is a founding member of BigVan, author of the book “Mathematical Intelligence” (Plataforma Editorial) and collaborator at the La Ventana radio show (SER). The best known of his talks is “Math is forever” which has been seen by almost a million and a half people at TED. You can see him talking about mates on his YouTube channel Derivando.


Name Institution
Nabil REZAIKI Badji Mokhtar university
Albert Rodas Barceló UPC
Aina Ferrà Marcús Universitat de Barcelona
Juan David Prada Malagón Universitat de Barcelona
Carlos D\'Andrea Universitat de Barcelona
Sofía Santiago Fernández Universitat de Barcelona
Marina Gonchenko Universitat de Barcelona
David Martínez Carpena Universitat de Barcelona
Carme Cascante Universitat de Barcelona
Enric Florit Zacarías Universitat de Barcelona
Ainoa Murillo López Universitat de Barcelona
Joan Hernández Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
David Marín Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Ramon Prat Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Clara Cufí-Cabré Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Alejandra Cabaña Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Magdalena Caubergh Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Miquel Barcelona Poza Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Ignasi Guillén-Mola Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Eloi Torrents Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Albert Ruiz Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Miquel Saucedo Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Francesc Perera Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Enric Ventura Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Ilario Bonacina Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Iñigo Urtiaga Erneta Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Dídac Gil Rams Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Roger Gómez López Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Josep Alvarez Montaner Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Patrick Morris Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Clément Requilé Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
JOSE ANGEL OCHOA MARTINEZ Universidad de Navarra
Giovanni Dalmasso Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Juan Arellano Tintó Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Angélica Torres Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Roser Homs Pons Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Anna Drou Roget Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Stefano Pedarra Centre de Recerca Matemàtica
Josep Sardanyés Centre de Recerca Matemàtica


For inquiries about this event please contact the Scientific Events Coordinator Ms. Núria Hernández at​​