Lluis Santaló

Permanent call
Deadline June 18, 2022


Lluís Santaló (Girona 1911, Buenos Aires 2001) carried out his most notable mathematical research in the field of Integral Geometry, an area of which he was a founder and one of the main contributors. He was a student of Wilhelm Blaschke in Hamburg. He then served in the republican army during the Spanish civil war and emigrated to Argentina in 1939. After ten years in Rosario he established himself in Buenos Aires, where he helped the development of mathematical research and became a reference for a whole generation of Argentina mathematicians. He was also very committed to mathematical education and the dissemination of mathematics in society.



In memory of Lluís Santaló, the CRM has created a visiting position (previously sponsored by IEC) bearing his name, specifically addressed to mathematical researchers affiliated to Latin American institutions, with the following characteristics:

The position is offered for a visit of a maximum period of three months, either from October to December 2022 or from January to June 2023 (excluding Easter break). The position includes accommodation and a monthly allowance of 1.500 euros (gross salary).

Lluís Santaló visitors are required to deliver a talk or mini-course with a short introduction to their research area during their stay at CRM.

It will be greatly appreciated that Lluís Santaló visitors provide written result of the research developed in form of a paper published in a peer reviewed journal or a contribution to one of the CRM collections.


To apply to the call:

Use the REGISTER yellow button at the top-left corner of the call. In the application form you will need to attach the following documents:

  • Expression of interest.
  • Curriculum vitae.
  • Brief research plan to develop at the CRM.
  • A letter of acceptance from the host researcher or group.


Application Deadline: 17th June 2022

Announcement of the call results: Selected candidates will be contacted during the 3rd week of July 2022


List of former visitors

2011 Santiago López                                                                     Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México                                    
2012 Roland Rabanal Pontifica Universidad Católica del Perú
2013 Renato Calleja Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
2014 Deborah Oliveros Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
2015 No candidates were offered the position  
2016 Jorge Antezana Universidad Nacional de La Plata
2017 Victor Francisco Sirvent Universidad Simón Bolívar
2018 Matías del Hoyo Universidade Federal Fluminense
2019 Stefanella Boato Universidade Federal Rio de Janeiro
2020 Renato Calleja Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  Georg Biedermann Universidad del Norte, Barranquilla
2021 Alejandro Cabrera Universidade Federal Rio de Janeiro


 If you have any questions about the call or the application process, please contact us at crm@crm.cat